How to Set Your Holiday Sales Goals

We are just under 9 weeks away from the holiday sales push. Hopefully, you’ve already begun planning what you’re going to sell this holiday season-if not, I have a few tips to share because you still have time but your window of opportunity (to figure things out) is starting to tighten up.

What To Do?

If you’re not sure where to begin and how to begin planning consider doing the following:

  • Assess your product suite-What exactly do you currently have on offer to sell? Have you sold those products before? Are those products meeting a need, want or interest that your audience has expressed to you recently?

  • Next do a capacity check-Do you have the bandwidth to sell one or several products during the holiday season.

  • The closer we get to Black Friday, the simpler your sales approach-the better

So, I ask “What are your sales goals?” Most of us spend a lot of time thinking about and focusing on impact, connection and mission, but in today’s conversation, we’re focusing on your sales goals. This is important because goals should also align with your marketing push.

Listen to the Episode

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Show Notes

Do you plan on selling a low-ticket product? Have you thought about how many you would need to sell to hit your earning’s goals? What is the number of leads needed (to sell to ) and what is the conversion rate your should be expecting after your sales push is done.

For Example:

If 3% of your leads convert to a sale, how many leads should you have to reach your earnings goal. I actually used the Google AI tool to figure this out.

  • What is you Average Order Value (AOV)
    • $27
    • $50
    • $197

  • Sales Goal is $5,000
    • $5,000/$27=185 Sales
    • $5,000/$50=100 Sales
    • $5,000/$197=25 Sales

  • Conversion rate of 3%=.03

  • Number of Sales/Conversion Rate (Leads are ideally your email list or newsletter subscriber list)
    • 185/.03=6,166 Leads
    • 100/.03=3,333 Leads
    • 25/.03=833 Leads

I Have a Question

What can you do between now and Black Friday to grow your number of warm leads? Ideally, you are capturing leads and emailing your list. If you’re still relying heavily on your social media following you’ll need to begin crafting talking points around what you plan on selling during the holiday season. Here are a few ideas on how you can do that.

  • Well Thought Out Newsletter Content-Curate content that leads your ideal buyer to your product. A good example of this is that I’ve begun talking about the doors opening soon to The Creator Income Collective. My goal is to get my audience used to hearing about the membership, to encourage questions, refine the copy writing around this project and get people to pay attention to the doors opening date.

  • Hosting a Series of Workshops-I’m doing this too. Starting next week I am hosting a workshop focused on helping people get prepared for the Holiday season every Sunday (time TBH) These workshops are offered to all subscribers of my Creators Getting Paid newsletter. Sign up at: https://creatorsgettingpaid.com/newsletter

  • Collaborations-For the past 8 months I’ve co-hosted a weekly or bi-weekly livestream with two amazing creators(Angela Hollowell of Please Hustle Responsibly and Melanin MVP) as well as Corey Gumbs founder of The Black Podcasters Association.

  • Host a fun experience-Virtual or In-Person. Create a specially designed scavenger hunt in a favorite town, a coffee or tea experience, A Corn Maze meetup or unique cultural experience then hold a guided conversation about the experience.

  • Social content that converts-Only you will know what works on social for your brand.

Some additional food for thought as you begin to work on your holiday sales push.

  • Avoid selling overly complicated product offerings. Keep it simple

  • Make the product or product suite easy for you to deliver.

  • Be careful when offering products where you’re doing work for your clients. Think about your capacity to do the work without stressing yourself out.

Finally, now is not the time to develop a complicated product with a lot of moving parts. Now is the beginning of the holiday sales cycle. The process for those November-January sales begins now. Don’t forget to sign up for Creators Getting Paid so that you can participate in the Holiday Sales push. Go to https://creatorsgettingpaid.com/holiday25 to gain access to the content and weekly replays.

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